Anyone??

Are you going through an investigation now? Tell your story and get feedback here.

Moderators: family_man, LindaJM

pamom2crew

Anyone??

Postby pamom2crew » Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:35 am

Anyone with any true knowledge or ideas please respond!

I have a friend who CPS became involved with, due to of course false allegations.
She did guardianship papers, which did not work. (which I told her they may not work)
Well CPS took her to court and told her to turn over her child, she refused, she is now in jail for 180 days or until she turns over her daughter.
I am looking for case laws or information on what her possible options will be after the 180 days are up.
Can the judge re-sentence her to more time if she does not turn her daughter over? What will CPS do?
I have never been in that situation so I have no personal experience with it.
Thanx to anyone who can help.
wrongly accused mom of 7 great kids

"never give up"

Greegor

Postby Greegor » Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:52 am

Gutsy woman.
What KIND of false accusations?

Has she asked for a JURY trial?
She should ask for that.

NOT a "speedy trial" that is just a bench trial.
Would a JURY see it her way?

I am NOT an attorney.

good dad
Site Admin

Postby good dad » Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:37 am

I am looking for case laws or information on what her possible options will be after the 180 days are up.
Can the judge re-sentence her to more time if she does not turn her daughter over?

In a "Contempt of Court" charge (google search it), I'm pretty sure he can leave her in till she produces the child
My advice is my opinion and not legal advice
A bad lawyer is worse then no lawyer and bad advice is worse then no advice....

Greegor

Postby Greegor » Fri Nov 10, 2006 12:09 pm

If she asks for a JURY trial don't they have to give her one?

good dad
Site Admin

Postby good dad » Fri Nov 10, 2006 1:05 pm