Newcomer with questions

Newcomers, please post something to let us know who you are and if you have an open case, you can post about it here.

Moderators: family_man, LindaJM

ms cnb

Newcomer with questions

Postby ms cnb » Sat Jan 07, 2006 3:25 pm

Hi, I am a grandmother to an 8yr a 2yr and a newborn. the newborn was removed from my daughter's care at the hospital. she had tested positive for drugs. I am an 18 wheel truck driver and could not get home to Lubbock TX for 4 days. Do I have any rights to the care of these children. Can they remove them from my care and how do I go about getting the newborn? I am incredibly naive I guess, I thought that if family were there the kids would come to them not go direct into the system. Any help, ideas would be so very much appreciated.

Dan Sullivan

Re: Newcomer with questions

Postby Dan Sullivan » Sat Jan 07, 2006 3:44 pm

ms cnb wrote:Hi, I am a grandmother to an 8yr a 2yr and a newborn. the newborn was removed from my daughter's care at the hospital. she had tested positive for drugs. I am an 18 wheel truck driver and could not get home to Lubbock TX for 4 days. Do I have any rights to the care of these children. Can they remove them from my care and how do I go about getting the newborn? I am incredibly naive I guess, I thought that if family were there the kids would come to them not go direct into the system. Any help, ideas would be so very much appreciated.

Too many times the children go into the system and the relatives have to fight to get them out.

What was the drug?

Did your daughter admit to the drug use?

If she admits her mistake and gets help she has a chance at getting her newborn back.

CPS allowed her to keep the 8 yo and 2 yo?

When did this happen?

Best, Dan

Dazeemay

Postby Dazeemay » Sat Jan 07, 2006 9:00 pm