Why I WANT to See a Family in an Appeals Situation

General chat area for anything that doesn't fit in elsewhere.

Moderators: family_man, LindaJM

gideonmacleish

Why I WANT to See a Family in an Appeals Situation

Postby gideonmacleish » Tue May 23, 2006 9:09 am

NOTE: This is not meant to be argumentative, but a counterpoint to Dan's article explaining why he never wants to see a family in an appeals situation. I respect Dan and what he does, but we operate from two entirely different philosophical bases, and ultimately, it is up to the individual to decide which course is appropriate for them. Please also note that this is not legal advice, and that I am not a lawyer.

There is much debate about whether a family should set the basis for appeal in their encounters with CPS and family court. While an appeal can be lengthy and can effect a family emotionally, and thus should never be undertaken lightly, it is absolutely crucial for us to press our rights continually to prevent our government from abusing its powers.

If you read this board regularly, you will note that Constitutional law violations of agents of CPS, and, in fact, often of their own policies and procedures are both routine and egregious. They must be held accountable to the law, just as you and I are accountable to the law.

In his book "Good to be King", 2004 Libertarian Party Presidential candidate Michael Badarik rightly points out that the Constitution does not give us any rights as individuals. These rights were believed by our founding fathers to be inalienable and bestowed upon us by our Creator, a concept they clearly expressed in the Declaration of Independence, and chose to enumerate in the first ten amendments we know as the Bill of Rights. The Constitution was written to spell out the powers of the government, and their limitations, and that is why the Bill of Rights are worded in such a way as to forbid the government from infringing upon them.